Almost time to say goodbye…

26 05 2010

As one of my last activities in Botswana, last Sunday we travelled to Lobatse (about 60km I think from Gabs) for a braai. We actually went to visit a guy’s farm whom we met at one of the performances at the Number 1 Ladies Opera House. It is a big farm, perhaps not compared to Australian properties but certainly for Botswana. From my limited understanding of farming the cattle are sent to his farm for fattening up before going to the abattoir. It was a little disconcerting enjoying the braai meat while looking down at the cows in their pens waiting to be sent to the abattoir.

Sadly my time in Botswana is coming to an end. It’s a bitter-sweet feeling. I’m excited that I will soon be seeing my family again but sad because I will be leaving behind what has become my Botswana family. It’s funny how quickly you can adapt to living in different places. Only a year in Botswana and already it feels like a part of me. Dare I say that it almost feels like home. It has become my life and I am really going to miss it. Sure at times it has been frustrating but I have made friendships here that are very dear to me and I will cherish for the rest of my life. I’m definitely on an emotional roller coaster. One minute happy, one minute sad and one minute highly stressed! One thing is for sure, I will look back on my time here in Botswana very fondly.

Hmmm does anyone have a tissue?


Actions

Information

2 responses

5 08 2011
Craig

Wow really nostalgic, I’ve been on a couple of botswana safaris and every time its so sad when I have to leave and thats only after a couple of weeks!

30 12 2015
Life of Writers

Great pictures. Really you had a great experience. Thanks for the post.

Leave a comment